not a July 2008 log

I realized halfway through the month that I’d failed to keep any sort of track of anything, and so have absolutely no idea what I might have read or watched this month. Despite the lack of updates, July was my best month for hits ever; sadly that’s probably at least in part due to people hotlinking images, though the related posts are also getting a significant number of hits. On the one hand, hotlinking images is stealing bandwidth; on the other hand, it’s not my bandwidth and wordpress doesn’t seem to mind; on the other other hand, it’s skewing my stats a bit, since they don’t distinguish between image hits and actual page hits. If I can actually sleep properly, maybe I can get my drafts cleared out and start posting more often. I have fifteen drafts; a couple are notes-to-self, one is waiting for more information (either I find the relevant discs or wait for the official release), but the others are all things I wanted to post at one point. The earliest is from last November and was abandoned until I got the next book of the series (last Christmas), and at this point may wait until the next is released. I don’t know why I don’t think that brief thoughts are OK as posts, but I’m going to try to convince myself of that; I’d like to post more here (oddly, I’ve been posting on lj a lot lately, mostly musician-related ramblings, though).

The only thing I know that I read was Lynn Flewelling’s Nightrunner series; I know I must have read other books before them but know I haven’t read anything since. I bought and read Shadows Return, and ended up rereading the previous books. I love the first two, but stalled out on Traitor’s Moon and promised myself I wouldn’t start anything new until I finished it. Traitor’s Moon features an excessively emo Seregil, which annoys me to no end and is the reason I failed to read it last time I tried. He has every reason to be depressed, and does eventually realize how he’s acting, but it’s not something I want to read. I still have 100 pages left, but Seregil seems to have snapped out of his depression, so hopefully it will go quickly; I have several library books I want to read (relatively new books by Jo Walton, Jay Lake, and Lois McMaster Bujold).

Also at some point (may have been June), I read Saiyuki Reload volume 8; sadly, the long wait has diminished some of my love for this series. I’m not active in the fandom at all (too lazy to find scans/translations, but don’t want spoilers), which might have contributed to that. If I remember correctly, volume 9 was released in Japan in June, so who knows when it will be released here. I was really annoyed by the way they wrote Goku’s speech, but can’t remember if the previous volumes were the same way (they are currently inaccessible).

According to Netflix, I finished off Season 3 of the new Doctor Who, and watched the 1980 Flash Gordon, the first disc of the Avengers ’66 (which has a draft and may eventually have a post of its own), and NANA 2. I also watched the first few episodes of the second season of Torchwood, but got annoyed at the first Gwen-centric episode and haven’t continued yet. I meant to go back and write a post about Doctor Who but never got around to it, and that was at the beginning of the month, so it’s too late now. I know I watched a few other things, but have no idea what now.

The 1980 Flash Gordon would have been visually spectacular in 1980; it’s a bit dated now, but still gorgeous. It’s too bad about the acting, though. One of the extras was the first episode of the 193x serial; I didn’t know the 1980 version was more of a relatively faithful remake instead of a reinterpretation. I’m not sure I ever realized that Flash Gordon was not the superhero Flash, though. In my defense, my only real exposure to the comic’s Flash was the 1990 TV series, and this was my only exposure to Flash Gordon. I’m not sure when I first saw this (probably on TV at some point in the 80s, possibly a rental in the 90s), but it was likely a vague memory in 1990; I saw it on Sci-Fi at some point since I’ve had cable (1999+), but at that point the TV series would have been a vague memory.

NANA 2 features recasts of several main characters, most notably Hachi (also Ren, Shin, maybe others). I didn’t realize it went as far into the manga as it did (a bit farther than I’d read, though I did know the major plot point beforehand; it was one of the reasons I didn’t bother continue reading the manga after Shojo Beat dropped it). It hit a major drama and angst portion of the manga, and I ended up watching most of it on fast-forward; I was kind of curious about what happened, but didn’t care enough to spend the time to watch it properly, so I don’t have much of an opinion about the recast characters. Ren was barely in this one, and Shin is a fairly minor character in both, so they didn’t make much of a difference. The other Hachi was much more bubbly and ditzy than this one, though that was due to the plot of that part; my initial reaction was that I couldn’t see her as the more serious Hachi and was glad of the recast, but that was unfair of me, since she was just acting as the plot dictated and probably would have done well as the more serious Hachi. I did like Takumi better here than in the part of the manga I’d read. They cut out all of the side plots; there was a little of Nana and Ren, but not as much as I would have expected, and the various subplots with Reira were completely gone. There was one comment of Nana’s that made some sense, but would have made more with the other plots still there, and there was something Ren did that seemed very out of the blue. I don’t know how much space was given to Nana and Ren in the manga, though; the part that corresponded to the part I’d read was about the same, but it seemed that the later events would have had more of their interaction. Overall, I can’t judge it since the major plot point made it something I was not that interested in and didn’t watch it properly.

This entry was posted in log. Bookmark the permalink.